Self Improvement · Uncategorized

Increase Productivity & Get Stuff Done

New Year, New Goals

stocksnap-8y0edx4vp9

How many of you create New Year Resolutions? I for one am not a fan of this because it never gets me anywhere. I cam swear up and down that I am going to make changes or improvements and guess what? Nothing ever changes.

To me a New Year Resolution is a promise to yourself that you do not intend to keep. (Surely I’m not the only one who feels this way). Instead of a resolution that is never going to get resolves; how about setting goals? When I tell myself of a goal I want to accomplish it holds a more important meaning than to say “resolution”.
So I am going to accomplish goals and increase my productivity this year. Want to know how? Just keep reading.

First Steps to Being More Productive

Are you getting enough rest and relaxation?  I am surely you are probably thinking “duh, Hanna, that obviously important!” I know, I know.  The lack of sleep and getting in your “you” time can hugely impact how productive you are and can even dull down your creative mind.  It is very important you are well rested so you are not dozing off while you are working.

Another thing to assure you are well rested is to make sure you are not getting too much sleep.  Yes, it is possible to get too much sleep.  Set an alarm and actually get out of bed when your alarm goes off.  I find that staying in bed, even if you are just checking emails or social media, can cause you to lose precious productivity time.  I can easily lose an hour of work by laying in bed scrolling through my news feed.

Write Down Your Goals

Writing down goals can definitely increase the probability of you actually working towards and achieving them.   Don’t know what your goals are yet?  That’s okay!  It’s time to start brainstorming.

-What do you want out of your life?
– What do you want to do?

Whether your goal is to have more money in your saving account, or to get more physically fit, that is still a goal.  Write it down.  Maybe you want to spend more time reading your bible, write it down.  Perhaps you want to start your own business, write it down.

After compiling your goal list it is time to set a realistic timeline for achieving these goals.  You are not going to look like Katy Hearn in three days.  As much as I would love for this to be real, it is very unrealistic.  It is imperative that you do not set yourself up for failure.  Instead set yourself up for success.

For example, as a blogger I have weekly goals.  Sometimes my goal is to post once a week, or I change it to twice a week.  Either way I create a goal.  I brainstorm topics I want to cover.  Each morning, I get up and make coffee.  (I’m a huge coffee addict).  I sit down with my notebook and create a list of blog posts I’ve been thinking about writing.  If I have points to cover in the post, I write those down as well.

After I brainstorm topics, I create a to do list for that day.  What do I need to get done?  Whether it is to pay the bills, take Rocky to the vet, or advertise my business not social media, I make a list.  If I see that I have things wrote down to make sure I get them done, I am far more inclined to actually doing them.  As I do them, guess what?  I mark it off the list.  Just that simple line through “fold the laundry” makes me feel like I have done something.  Cheesy, I know.  You have to remember it is also the little things in life.  What little tasks makes you feel good about yourself?

stocksnap-vhxfnkmu96

Have A Positive Mind

Having positive thoughts will also increase your productivity dramatically.  Thinking happy thoughts can not only make you feel good about yourself, but also increases the probability of you actually getting out of bed and finding ambition.  Yes, there will be obstacles but you will also overcome them.

Don’t over do it

No matter what is going on and how much you need to get done, don’t let it get you down.  You are not super woman.  Do not stress yourself to the point of overexersion where you want to pull your hair out.  Nobody will benefit from this.  Not you, your husband or your boyfriend, or your kids, or aunt Paula (I don’t have aunt named Paula but you’re picking up what I’m putting down, right?)  We are trying to be productive here.  We are not trying to do it all, overloading ourselves to where we crash and can’t take it anymore.  Take a deep breath.  Figure out what needs to get tackled first and foremost and get it done, and then move on to the next.  It is as simple as that.
Write down your goals
-what do you need to do to achieve your goals?
-How long will it take? Be Realistic.
-Make a daily to do list
-Actually do your daily to do list
-Think happy thoughtsJust remember your dreams don’t come true over night.  You have to work for them.
Leave a Reply

