business · Uncategorized

Set Yourself Up for Success

What exactly is your definition of successful?  Depending on how you define it determines if you are successful, right?  Well, in my opinion being successful is being able to get your ducks in a row and get stuff done.  Whether it is to pay off all your credit card debt, or save up for a down payment for a house, or whatever your heart desires.  Being successful doesn’t mean you have to have a million dollars in your bank account.   Are you setting yourself up for success?

Creating Goals

There are big goals like purchasing a home and there are small goals like making a certain sales quota or maybe your goal is to lose weight.  I have found that the best way to be able to scratch off my goal list is to create small goals that will lead up to achieve that one big goal.

To start, make a list of short term goals.  It doesn’t matter what it is as long as it’s a goal you want to achieve.  Even if it’s just getting the laundry done; (that is a huge accomplishment in my house!).  After you make your list, write down when you want to achieve them by and work towards making your deadline.

Same goes for long term goals; write down your long term goals then write down the steps you have to take to reach your long term goal and when you want to achieve it by.  Also, don’t be hard on yourself.  Make sure your deadline is feasible for getting your stuff done.  We are setting ourselves up for success not failure.

Are your goals realistic?

When I was about nineteen years old I wanted to start building my home.  Yes this is a nice daydream, but in reality I just had my oldest child, I was single with a really bad credit score, and only making about eight dollars an hour.  Could I have built my dream home?  Highly unlikely at that point in time, but if I made a short term and long term list I could’ve accomplished.

Do you want to be a millionaire by the time your thirty?  Well depending on whom you are and who you know, you could most definitely make that happen.  As for the average Joe, I highly doubt it unless you are really lucky at the lottery.

What are your short and long term goals?
It always feels good knowing that you have accomplished something you have worked hard for.  Don’t just be a dreamer; make your dreams into reality.
One thought on “Set Yourself Up for Success

Leave a Reply

