business

Do You Have A Career Crush?

Okay, maybe I have already lost you.  Please stay with me.  I know it might sound crazy and you are probably thinking, “Okay, Boss Woman, what the heck is a career crush?”

Well, a career crush is a person in your field of work that you like what they have going for them; and it would be someone you would want to be best friends with.  It is very healthy and very important to get a career crush.  Why?  For starters, it is a great way to motivate you to stay on top of your career game. Did I lose you again?  Stay with me.  Think about it, is there someone you are always envious over or admire their work ethic and what they do?

I have a couple of career crushes and maybe one of them is a fictional character but hey! I love what she has going on even though it isn’t real, it can be realistic.

Who are my career crushes?

olivia-pope-episode-20-main

Who doesn’t love Olivia Pope from Scandal?  Yes, she isn’t real but she very well could be.  She is a fierce, bold, and confident woman who gets what she wants because she goes for it.  She is also one hell of a friend and would do anything and everything she can for them.  And quite frankly I think some of the characters are intimidated by her.  Oh to make someone feel intimidate…is that wrong to want?  I don’t believe so.  If someone told me I intimidate them I would find it to be a compliment.  Olivia Pope is a girl on fire, and I must says I love her sense of style.  Anyone else?

I promise I have a real person career crush as well.  And some of you will most likely not be surprised when I say this.  I first found out about her through a book list online and I went to the book store to find it and I did.  I grabbed it and sat at the table and started to read it.  The only problem was, at that time I didn’t have the money to buy it.  If anyone saw me, they probably thought I was a huge weirdo, because I had this huge, dorky grin on my face and was caressing the hardcover and tracing my fingers over the title “Rich Bitch“.  I am laughing as I type this but it is the honest truth.

Finally, in 2016 I was able to listen to the audiobook.  (I still haven’t actually purchased Rich Bitch but I will to add to my book collection).  I listened to that book several times, I could almost recite it by memory.  That is when I discovered my career crush, Nicole Lapin.

nicole-lapin

Listening to her audiobook made me believe that she would be really cool to hang out with.  She would be that one friend that would be brutally honest because she loves you.  She is brilliant and recently won Best Money Expert on GoBanking Rates.  If she came to my doorstep and ask to have a girls dinner I would have to tell her I haven’t prepared myself for any questions she might ask me about my future.  (If you have read Rich Bitch, you’d know what I was talking about. )  Maybe I need to do this after finishing this post.

Nicole has two books, one called Boss Bitch, that releases in March.  She even has her own production company and stars on tv show, Hatched, a show to help entrepreneurs.   Why wouldn’t she be my crush?

Who is your career crush?

 

Leave a Reply

