business · networking

How to Get the Most out of Meetings

My boyfriend is forced to attended numerous amounts of five am business meetings throughout the month and this goes on every single month.  I hear about how it was a waste of his time and how he got behind his work schedule due to this.  Honestly, I feel for him.  There is nothing more annoying than having to take time away from your work and then a work meeting that wasn’t beneficial.  I am currently looking at this from an employee point of view.  This post is for those who host the meetings.

When scheduling a meeting, time and day are of the essence, but also think about the employee and the work that they do.  Can this be done individually or is it absolutely necessary to have a staff meeting?  Who all does this apply to?  How is their work productivity going to be effected?

Other Articles:

The Best Apps For Business

The Meaning Behind Boss Woman CEO

How to Build Your Brand

 

Those are all important questions and if you want to have a successful workplace; I advise on being smarter about your meetings.  In my experience, I have had meetings that did not benefit me or quite frankly were anything about what I did for the company.  The whole time I was there I was thinking, “How much longer is this going to take?  I have work to do”.

You don’t want to be one of those bosses.  Yes, there are times when business is slow and you could possibly sit around and chat.  Perhaps next time ask your employee, “When is a good time for you to have a conference?”  Let them know about how long you are thinking it will last and that way they can work you in.  Just because you are the boss doesn’t mean that you are more important.  What happens if they don’t get their work done or meet a certain deadline?

Plan accordingly:  Ask the employee, when is a good time for them.  Chances are they know their work schedule and flow better than you. (No offense, but I have been one of those employees).

What your meeting is about:  Please make notes and revise what is going to be discussed in your meeting.  A well organized meeting goes much smoother than one not organized.  You want to have your employees in and out without any…shall I say, dilly dally?

 

Leave a Reply

